last updated: 18 August 2017

Darkovan Chronology

For a list of the Darkover® novels in chronological order, see MZB's Bibliography. It lists the novels in both the order they were written and also by where they fit in Darkovan history.
On April 7, 2014 the Trust signed an agreement with DAW Books for three more Darkover novels. THUNDERLORD was published August 2, 2016. Deborah J. Ross is currently working on the second book, THE LARAN GABMIT, which is set in "modern" Darkover, while the third book, ARILINN, will go back in time to the founding of Arilinn Tower.

Darkover® Newsletter

The Darkover® newsletter was discontinued years ago, and all back issues were sold off. We now have a quarterly online newsletter for MZB's Trust, and it contains news of Darkover® as well as other material (and Ann Sharp is still doing logic puzzles for it).
To subscribe, fill out the form on our home page.

Writing Darkover® Fiction

Darkover® is the property of Marion Zimmer Bradley and her heirs, and the right to prepare a derivative work belongs to the copyright holder. This means that even if you don't publish it or make money from it; it's still illegal. Nobody is allowed to write a Darkover® story or novel without a contract with the Marion Zimmer Bradley Literary Works Trust. You may not write a Darkover® story in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, or any other language. Any legitimate editor you sent it to would not publish it because that would be a violation of copyright laws and the Berne Convention. If you have an idea for a Darkover® story, create a new background -- a new universe -- rename your characters, and write it so that the story is clearly NOT Darkovan.

We are publishing anual Darkover® anthologies again, but they are currently by invitation only. These are the new ones:

We have also reprinted the first twelve anthologies. They are available in trade paperback, Kindle, Kobo, and Nook editions.

  1. THE KEEPER'S PRICE, 1980 - contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook,
  2. SWORD OF CHAOS, 1982 - contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook
  3. FREE AMAZONS OF DARKOVER, 1985 - contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook
  4. OTHER SIDE OF THE MIRROR, 1987 - contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook
  5. RED SUN OF DARKOVER, 1987 - contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook
  6. FOUR MOONS OF DARKOVER, 1988 - contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook
  7. DOMAINS OF DARKOVER, 1990, contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook
  8. RENUNCIATES OF DARKOVER, 1991 - contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook
  9. LERONI OF DARKOVER, 1991 - contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook
  10. TOWERS OF DARKOVER, 1993 - contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook
  11. MARION ZIMMER BRADLEY'S DARKOVER, 1993 - contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook
  12. SNOWS OF DARKOVER, 1994 - contents, Kindle, Kobo, Nook

Darkover® Convention

The Darkover® Grand Council Meeting was held on the East Coast each November. Unfortunately, due to the death of Jaelle of Armida (Judy Gurjuoy), 2013 was the last year. The group that ran it now puts on a convention called Chessiecon.

The name "Darkover" is a registered trademark, owned by the Marion Zimmer Bradley Literary Works Trust.

Marion Zimmer Bradley's home page